Joyce L. Connery, Chairman Jessie H. Roberson, Vice Chairman Sean Sullivan Daniel J. Santos

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 14, 2015: Washington DC - The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (DNFSB) is pleased to announce that Ms. Joyce L. Connery of Gainesville, Virginia has been appointed by President Obama as its Chairman. She was confirmed by Congress on August 5, 2015, as a DNFSB Member, for a term expiring October 18, 2019, and subsequently appointed as Chairman by the President on August 10, 2015.



Ms. Connery recently completed a detail from the Department of Energy (DOE) with the White House as Director of Nuclear Energy Policy within the Office of International Economics on the National Security Council (NSC), a position she has held since 2012. Prior to this, she served as the Senior Policy Advisor to the Deputy Secretary at DOE from 2010 to 2012. From 2009 to 2010, Ms. Connery served as the Director of Cooperative Threat Reduction and Nuclear Energy Cooperation and in 2008 served as Director of Nonproliferation Policy at the NSC. From 2006 to 2008, Ms. Connery served as Senior Policy Advisor to the Deputy Administrator for Defense Nuclear Proliferation at the DOE. Before that position, she was a Policy Advisor to the Assistant Deputy Administrator at DOE from 2004 to 2006. From 1999 to 2004, Ms. Connery served in various positions at Argonne National Laboratory for the DOE including Program Analyst and Foreign Affairs Specialist from 2001 to 2004, Technical Program Coordinator from 2000 to 2001, and Nuclear Nonproliferation Program Representative from 1999 to 2000. Ms. Connery received a B.A. and M.A. from Tufts University.