John T. Conway, Chairman

A.J. Eggenberger, Vice Chairman

John E. Mansfield

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

TATES OF AUGUST OF THE PARTY OF

625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000

June 7, 2002

The Honorable Spencer Abraham Secretary of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Abraham:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to note that Mr. Brian Harkins of the Department of Energy's (DOE) Office of River Protection has been honored as the 2001 DOE Facility Representative of the Year.

The Board has always considered the Facility Representative Program to be one of DOE's most useful and productive tools for maintaining the safety of the public and workers. The program has clearly contributed to improvements in the safe operation of your facilities.

The Board Members and staff join you and your site Managers in recognizing the importance of selecting and rewarding these exceptional and enthusiastic employees and add our congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Harkins.

Sincerely

John T. Conway

Chairman

c: Mr. Mark B. Whitaker, Jr. Mr. Brian Harkins