John T. Conway, Chairman A.J. Eggenberger, Vice Chairman Joseph J. DiNunno John E. Mansfield Jessie Hill Roberson

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

00-0002103

625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000

October 25, 2000

Dr. Robert I. Van Hook, Jr. Lockheed Martin Energy Systems P.O. Box 2009 Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37831-8001

Dear Dr. Van Hook:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) commends you on the occasion of your retirement from Lockheed Martin Energy Systems after many years of faithful service to the defense nuclear complex. Your efforts to enhance safety at the Y-12 Plant have contributed significantly to our Nation's ability to maintain strategic deterrence.

The Board appreciates the high degree of technical competence, effective leadership, and personal commitment that you have displayed throughout all our interactions. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Sincerely,

John T. Conway

Chairman