i 🚧 l' Conway, Chairman Eggenberger, Vice Chairman

Leeph J. DiNunno 1- en E. Mansfield

1. over Hill Roberson

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000

May 23, 2000



Ms. Karen Patterson, Chair Savannah River Site Citizens Advisory Board 1103 Conger Drive Aiken, SC 29803

Dear Ms. Patterson:

As you are aware, the Department of Energy (DOE) is preparing an Implementation Plan tor response to the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) Recommendation 2000-1. Recently, the Citizens Advisory Board (CAB) requested that the Board update the CAB regarding the acceptance or rejection of the implementation plan by July 25, 2000. At the time of that request, an implementation plan was expected by April 2000.

In a letter dated April 27, 2000, the Secretary of Energy informed the Board that the implementation plan was expected by the end of May 2000. The Board believes that the acceptability of the plan depends on many factors, particularly whether it shows a timely and credible commitment to complete stabilization activities that DOE committed to under Recommendation 94-1. Considering the unacceptably slow rate of progress at the Savannah River Site and Los Alamos National Laboratory in 1999, the Board intends to carefully scrutinize this plan before acting on it. At that time, the Board's local site representatives at the Savannah River Site will provide you with an update on this matter.

The Board strongly supports the role of the CAB in providing feedback to DOE from the ocal community. The Board's local site representatives are always available to provide information that may be useful to the CAB in formulating that feedback, including the status of **Board** and DOE actions on Recommendation 2000-1.

Please feel free to contact our site representatives, Dr. Charles Keilers (803) 725-4732 or Mr. Todd Davis (803) 725-4753, if further assistance is required.

Sincerely.

John 7. Conway

The Honorable Bill Richardson The Honorable Carolyn L. Huntoon Mr. Greg Rudy Mr. Mark B. Whitaker, Jr.