John T. Conway, Chairman
A.J. Eggenberger, Vice Chairman
Joseph J. DiNunno
John E. Mansfield
Jessie Hill Roberson

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000



February 29, 2000

Mr. Frank R. McCoy, III U. S. Department of Energy Savannah River Operations Office Aiken, South Carolina 29802

Dear Mr. McCoy:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) commends you on the occasion of your retirement from the Department of Energy (DOE) after many years of dedicated service. It has been a pleasure working with you on the implementation of numerous Board recommendations involving integrated safety management, salt disposition, federal technical expertise, and K-Reactor restart.

As you well know, each Board recommendation is a first step toward improving safety. These recommendations are followed by much hard work to develop effective DOE implementation plans, each expressing a shared vision of DOE and the Board. The Board recognizes you for your contributions on numerous occasions to developing that vision and to translating that vision into a reality that significantly improves safety for the public, the worker, and the environment.

In particular, the Board expresses our gratitude for your leadership in developing and implementing DOE's plan for integrated safety management. This successful effort continues to have far-reaching positive influence on safety throughout the DOE complex.

The Board appreciates the high degree of technical competence, effective leadership, and personal commitment that you have displayed through all of our interactions. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors.

Sincerely,

John T. Conway

Chairman

 $c\colon \ \, \text{The Honorable Carolyn L. Huntoon}$

Mr. Greg Rudy

Mr. Mark B. Whitaker, Jr.