Peter S. Winokur, Chairman Jessie H. Roberson, Vice Chairman John E. Mansfield

Joseph F. Bader

## DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



June 3, 2011

The Honorable Steven Chu Secretary of Energy U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Chu:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to recognize that Mr. Dale West of Hanford's Richland Operations Office was recently honored as the winner of the 2010 Department of Energy (DOE) Safety System Oversight Annual Award. The Board and its staff join you and your site managers in recognizing the importance of the contributions made by DOE's safety system oversight personnel, and we extend our congratulations and best wishes to Mr. West.

This was the second year that DOE has formally recognized safety system oversight personnel for their important contributions to the operational safety of nuclear facilities. The Board encourages DOE to continue enhancing and strengthening the safety system oversight program as a key technical resource for overseeing contractor management of safety systems at nuclear facilities to ensure that those systems will perform as required.

Sincerely,

Peter S. Winokur, Ph.D.

Chairman

c: Mr. Matthew S. McCormick Mr. Dale C. West Mrs. Mari-Jo Campagnone