

## The Secretary of Energy Washington, D.C. 20585

December 8, 2006

MEMORANDUM FOR DISTRIBUTION Clay Sell.

FROM:

SUBJECT: Integrated Safety Managen ent Co-Champions

The Department's Integrated Safety Management (ISM) System Manual (DOE M 450.4-1) was approved on November 1, 2006. This is an important directive providing our expectations on establishing and implementing effective safety management systems that achieve continuous improvement.

One of my responsibilities in the ISM Manual is to designate the Department's ISM Champion to lead the Department of Energy (DOE) ISM Champions Council in their support of line management in developing and sustaining vital, mature ISM systems. In consideration of the priority of this effort and my desire to promote partnership between the line and the newly established Office of Health, Safety and Security (HSS), I have decided to designate two persons to serve as leadership for the Department's ISM Champions.

It is my intent to have a standing Champion from the newly created Office of Health, Safety and Security. Dr. Pat Worthington will serve that role and be accountable to fulfill the requirements of that position. Dr. Worthington, the Director of the Office of Health and Safety, within HSS, is responsible for ISM policy and technical assistance for the Department. She has a depth of experience in implementation of ISM throughout the DOE complex. She will be in an excellent position to facilitate access to HSS resources to support line management in revitalizing ISM implementation.

The Vice Champion will be designated on a rotating basis from line management. Dr. Wu, the Chief Safety Officer for the Office of Environmental Management, was first designated as the Department's ISM Champion in October 2005. His leadership over the past year has brought about clear success in raising the level of awareness of the importance of ISM and revitalizing ISM implementation throughout the DOE complex. I have asked Dr. Wu to serve in the role of Vice Champion for the coming year.

I look forward to effective partnering between the line and HSS in continuing our forward progress on ISM. I ask you to support Dr. Worthington and Dr. Wu in their efforts. I have also asked the HSS organization to work with the Office of Management to make the appropriate changes to the ISM Manual to reflect this arrangement.

## Distribution:

Linton Brooks, US

David Garman, US

Raymond Orbach, US

Glenn Podonsky, HS-1

Michael Kilpatrick, HS-1

Mark Whitaker, HS1.1

Jim Rispoli, EM-1

Dennis Spurgeon, NE-1

Alexander Karsner, EE-1

Jeffrey Jarrett, FE-1

Patricia Worthington, HS-10

Patrice Bubar, HS-30

Thomas Staker, HS-64

David Compton, HS-1.1

Tom D'Agostino, NA-10

Chip Lagdon, US

James McConnell, NA-2

Frank Russo, NA-3

John Evans, NA-3

Van Nguyen, SC-31

Joseph Malinovsky, EE-30

Dae Chung, EM-60

Charlie O'Dell, EM-61

Chuan-Fu Wu, EM-3

Michael Worley, NE-70

A. J. Eggenberger, DNFSB

Camille Yuan-Soo Hoo, LSO

Edwin Wilmot, LASO

Jay Norman, NVSO

Daniel Glenn, PXSO

Richard Arkin, SRSO

Patrice Wagner, SSO

Theodore Sherry, YSO

Karen Boardman, NZ

David Moody, CB

William Taylor, OII

William Murphie, PPPO

Keith Klein, RL

Roy Schepens, RL

Jeffrey Allison, SR

Jack Craig, CBC

Elizabeth Sellers, ID

Gerald Boyd, OR

Roxanne Purucker, SC-AMSO

Robert Wunderlich, SC-CH Aundra Richards, SC-BSO Michael Holland, SC-BHSO Carson Nealy, SC-CH Joanna Livengood, SC-FSO Julie Erickson, SC-PNSO Jerry Faul, SC-PSO Nancy Sanchez, SC-SSO James Turi, SC-TJSO Vernon Daub, CB Robert Everson, CBC Geoff Beausoleil, NE-ID Shirley Olinger, ORP David Kozlowski, PPPO Michael Weis, RL William Spader, SR Christopher Eckert, OH-WV Curtis Roth, NNSA-KC Phillip Hill, NNSA-LS Fred Bell, NNSA-LA Stephen Mellington, NNSA-NS Richard Caummisar, NNSA-PS Bruce Wilson, NNSA-SV Ken Zamora, NNSA-SN Douglas Dearolph, NNSA-OR David Chaney, NNSA-NZ