Joyce L. Connery, Chair Thomas A. Summers, Vice Chair Jessie H. Roberson

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



July 29, 2021

The Honorable Jennifer M. Granholm Secretary of Energy US Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Granholm:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board is pleased to recognize that the Department of Energy has awarded Mr. Jeffrey Edlund of the National Nuclear Security Administration the 2020 Annual Safety System Oversight (SSO) Award.

Mr. Edlund has demonstrated outstanding leadership by identifying numerous areas for nuclear safety improvements at the Y-12 National Security Complex. He also provided significant support and oversight during an emergency associated with a hydrogen fluoride leak at the Building 9212 Oxide Conversion Facility. These and other accomplishments make Mr. Edlund well deserving of this professional honor.

The Board joins DOE and its field office managers in acknowledging the importance of the contributions made by all of DOE's SSO engineers and extends its sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Edlund. The Board invites Mr. Edlund to meet with its executives during his next visit to the Washington, DC, area.

Sincerely,

Joyce L. Connery Chair

Enclosure

c: Dr. Charles P. Verdon

Ms. Teresa Robbins

Dr. David Bowman

Mr. Jeffrey Edlund

Mr. Joe Olencz

AFFIRMATION OF BOARD VOTING RECORD

SUBJECT: 2020 Safety Systems Oversight Award Recognition **Doc Control#:** 2021-100-0025

The Board acted on the above document on 07/29/2021. The document was Approved.

The votes were recorded as:

	APRVD	DISAPRVD	ABSTAIN	NOT PARTICIPATING	COMMENT	DATE
Joyce L. Connery	✓					07/28/2021
Thomas Summers	~					07/29/2021
Jessie H. Roberson	~					07/28/2021

This Record contains a summary of voting on this matter together with the individual vote sheets, views and comments of the Board Members.

Shelby Qualls

Executive Secretary to the Board

Attachments:

- 1. Voting Summary
- 2. Board Member Vote Sheets

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD NOTATIONAL VOTE RESPONSE SHEET

FROM: Joyce L. Connery

SUBJECT: 2020 Safety Systems Oversight Award Recognition

Doc Control#: 2021-100-0025

DATE: 07/28/2021

VOTE: Approved

COMMENTS:

None

Toyce L. Connery

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD NOTATIONAL VOTE RESPONSE SHEET

FROM: Thomas Summers

SUBJECT: 2020 Safety Systems Oversight Award Recognition

Doc Control#: 2021-100-0025

DATE: 07/29/2021

VOTE: Approved

COMMENTS:

None

Thomas Summers

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD NOTATIONAL VOTE RESPONSE SHEET

FROM: Jessie H. Roberson

SUBJECT: 2020 Safety Systems Oversight Award Recognition

Doc Control#: 2021-100-0025

DATE: 07/28/2021

VOTE: Approved

Member voted by email.

COMMENTS:

None

Tessie H. Roberson