95-0003904

John T. Conway, Chairman A.J. Eggenberger, Vice Chairman John W. Crawford, Jr. Joseph J. DiNunno Herbert John Cecil Kouts

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD



625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C. 20004 (202) 208-6400

August 2, 1995

The Honorable Hazel R. O'Leary Secretary of Energy Washington, D.C. 20585

Dear Secretary O'Leary:

The Board acknowledges receipt of your July 11, 1995, letter and accepts your stated intent to delete Commitments 5.1 and 5.4 from the Implementation Plan for Recommendation 93-5. Your staff has kept us well informed of the basis for this decision. We understand that you will be sending a revised Implementation Plan to the Board for review later this year. We see no reason why deletion of these two commitments will affect our decision on the acceptability of this revised Plan.

Sincerely, John P. Conwa Chairman

cc: Mr. Thomas P. Grumbly, EM-1 Mr. Mark B. Whitaker, EH-9