Peter S. Winokur, Chairman Jessie H. Roberson, Vice Chairman John E. Mansfield Joseph F. Bader

## DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



June 14, 2012

The Honorable Steven Chu Secretary of Energy U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Chu:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to recognize that Ms. Elaine N. Diaz of the Hanford Site Office of River Protection was recently honored as the winner of the 2011 Department of Energy (DOE) Safety System Oversight Annual Award. Ms. Diaz's hard work and exemplary service in identifying safety hazards and key technical issues related to the heating, ventilation, and air conditioning (HVAC) and process gas treatment systems for the Waste Treatment and Immobilization Plant make her well deserving of this personal honor. The Board and its staff join you and your site managers in acknowledging the importance of the contributions made by DOE's safety system oversight personnel, and we extend our sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Ms. Diaz.

This was the third year in which DOE formally recognized safety system oversight personnel for their important contributions to the operational safety of nuclear facilities. The Board encourages DOE to continue enhancing and strengthening the safety system oversight program. This key technical resource for overseeing contractor management of safety systems at nuclear facilities ensures that those systems will perform when needed and as required.

Sincerely,

Peter S. Winokur, Ph.D. Chairman

c: Mr. Scott L. Samuelson Ms. Elaine N. Diaz Mrs. Mari-Jo Campagnone