Joyce L. Connery, Chairman Jessie H. Roberson, Vice Chairman Sean Sullivan Daniel J. Santos Bruce Hamilton

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



June 20, 2016

The Honorable Ernest J. Moniz Secretary of Energy U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Moniz:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to recognize that Mr. Jeffrey K. Edlund of the National Nuclear Security Administration Production Office at the Y-12 National Security Complex (Y-12) was named 2015 Department of Energy (DOE) Facility Representative of the Year at the recent Nuclear and Facility Safety Programs Workshop. Mr. Edlund's high quality, professional, and effective oversight contributed significantly to operational safety at Y-12's enriched uranium chemical processing, enriched uranium machining, and analytical chemistry facilities. The challenges in overseeing this group of high-hazard facilities and operations make him well deserving of this honor. We join you in acknowledging the important contributions made by all DOE facility representatives, and extend our sincerest congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Edlund.

This year's workshop again featured extensive sharing of experiences and lessons learned among the facility representatives. As in past years, the workshop was outstanding and demonstrated the continued growth and maturity of the facility representative community and its strong program leadership. We encourage DOE to continue supporting and strengthening the facility representative program to maintain its role as one of the most effective contributors to nuclear facility safety.

Sincerely. Chairman

c: Mr. Geoffrey L. Beausoleil Mr. Jeffrey K. Edlund Mr. Joe Olencz