A.J. Eggenberger, Chairman John E. Mansfield, Vice Chairman Joseph F. Bader Larry W. Brown Peter S. Winokur

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

NES OF A SHEET OF A SH

625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700 Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000

June 11, 2008

The Honorable Samuel W. Bodman Secretary of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Bodman:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to learn that Mr. Glyn Trenchard of the Office of River Protection has been honored as the 2007 Department of Energy (DOE) Facility Representative of the Year. The Board and its staff join you and your site managers in recognizing the importance of the contributions made by the DOE Facility Representatives, and offer our congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Trenchard.

The Board continues to view DOE's Facility Representative program as one of the essential elements of the safety oversight of defense nuclear activities. The Board encourages DOE to continue its efforts to build a vigorous federal oversight program utilizing the federal technical workforce at all of its defense nuclear facilities as has been done successfully with the Facility Representative program.

Sincerely,

A. J. Eggenberger

guhuger '

Chairman

c: Ms. Shirley J. Olinger

Mr. Glyn D. Trenchard

Mr. Mark B. Whitaker, Jr.

Mr. Robert J. McMorland