DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Peter S. Winokur, Chairman John E. Mansfield, Vice Chairman Joseph F. Bader Larry W. Brown Jessie H. Roberson

ashington, D.C. 20004-2901

625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700 Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000

April 22, 2010

The Honorable Steven Chu Secretary of Energy U. S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Chu:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) would like to congratulate the Department of Energy (DOE), the National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA), Babcock & Wilcox Technical Services Y-12, and all the other contractors that contributed to the design, construction, and startup of the Highly Enriched Uranium Materials Facility (HEUMF) at the Y-12 National Security Complex (Y-12).

For the Board, whose role is to provide independent safety oversight of DOE's defense nuclear facility complex, HEUMF represents an improvement in the safety posture of Y-12. This facility will ensure that the nation's enriched uranium will be stored in a robust facility where the safety of workers and the public is well served. The many lessons learned from the completion of HEUMF can be applied directly to the design and construction of the next planned nuclear facility at Y-12—the Uranium Processing Facility—as well as other new facilities under design in the complex.

Again, the Board congratulates DOE, NNSA, and the Y-12 contractors on the completion of HEUMF.

Sincerely,

The SWA

Peter S. Winokur, Ph.D. Chairman

c: The Honorable Thomas P. D'Agostino Mr. Theodore D. Sherry Mr. Mark B. Whitaker, Jr.