A.J. Eggenberger, Chairman John E. Mansfield Joseph F. Bader Larry W. Brown Peter S. Winokur

## DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD



625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700 Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000

June 6, 2007

The Honorable Samuel W. Bodman Secretary of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Bodman:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) is pleased to recognize that Mr. Robert C. Seal of the Idaho Operations Office has been honored as the 2006 Department of Energy (DOE) Facility Representative of the Year. The Board Members and staff join you and your site managers in recognizing the importance of the contributions made by the DOE Facility Representatives and add our congratulations and best wishes to Mr. Seal.

The Board would like to acknowledge the Idaho Operations Office, under the leadership of Ms. Elizabeth D. Sellers, for capturing the honor of DOE Facility Representative of the Year for three consecutive years. The Board views DOE's Facility Representative Program as an essential element in assuring the safety of defense nuclear activities. The Board encourages DOE to continue efforts to build and sustain a vigorous Facility Representative Program at all of its defense nuclear facilities.

Sincerely,

genbeger

A. J. Eggenberger Chairman

 c: Ms. Elizabeth D. Sellers Mr. Robert C. Seal Mr. Mark B. Whitaker, Jr.