2010.0000963

Peter S. Winokur, Chairman Jessie H. Roberson, Vice Chairman John E. Mansfield Joseph F. Bader Larry W. Brown

## DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD



625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700, Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000 July 12, 2010

Mr. David McCoy Executive Director Citizen Action New Mexico P.O. Box 4276 Albuquerque, New Mexico 87196

Dear Mr. McCoy:

The Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) would like to thank you for your presentation on March 3, 2010, in Santa Fe, New Mexico, regarding Sandia National Laboratories, as well as your follow-up communiqué of May 27, 2010. The Board is reviewing several of the issues you raised in your presentation. Our review is not complete; however this letter is intended as an update.

Regarding your concerns associated with material in collocated storage holes (otherwise known as "yardholes"), the Board is examining the current inventory in the yardholes to determine whether they are subject to the Board's oversight. The Board also notes your concerns associated with the potential release of material following a seismic event; the Board is reviewing the documented safety analyses for the facilities of concern. In both instances, the Board will communicate its findings to you once its review has been completed.

The Board has provided copies of your presentation to the Department of Energy and the National Nuclear Security Administration to ensure that they will be considered in those venues while the Board's review is pending.

As you requested, the Board has again reviewed matters associated with the Mixed Waste Landfill. The new information you provided on March 3, 2010, does not change the Board's prior assessment that the landfill is not within the Board's jurisdiction. Therefore, the Board is referring this new information to the Environmental Protection Agency and the New Mexico Environment Department for disposition.

Sincerely, 54

Peter S. Winokur, Ph.D. Chairman

c: The Honorable Thomas P. D'Agostino The Honorable Inés R. Triay The Honorable Lisa P. Jackson Secretary Ron Curry Mrs. Mari-Jo Campagnone