DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Peter S. Winokur, Chairman John E. Mansfield, Vice Chairman Joseph F. Bader Larry W. Brown

625 Indiana Avenue, NW, Suite 700 Washington, D.C. 20004-2901 (202) 694-7000



April 2, 2010

Dr. Jerry N. McKamy National Nuclear Security Administration NA-171/Room4/7/2010 1J063 1000 Independence Ave, SW Washington, DC 20528

Dear Dr. McKamy,

In January 1999, the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board (Board) established an award to recognize individuals who provide exceptional leadership in promoting safety management in the Department of Energy (DOE) nuclear weapons complex. The first award was presented to Victor Stello, Jr., former Principle Deputy Secretary for Safety and Quality, Office of Defense Programs, DOE. The award is now titled *The Victor Stello*, *Jr. Award for Safety Leadership*.

The Board has unanimously agreed to present the 2010 Stello Award to you. This award is based on your outstanding leadership to enhance nuclear safety within DOE, especially your recent management of the DOE Nuclear Criticality Safety Program. The Board believes your superior leadership, technical competence, and motivation have exemplified those qualities for which the *Victor Stello*, *Jr. Award for Safety Leadership* was intended.

I want to personally congratulate you for the award and thank you for your efforts on behalf of safety within the DOE nuclear weapons complex.

We intend to present the award to you in the near future. My staff will contact you concerning the details. We hope your family will also be able to attend.

Again, congratulations. I am looking forward to presenting this prestigious award to you.

Sincerely,

Peter S. Winokur, Ph.D. Chairman

c: The Honorable Steven Chu Secretary of Energy

The Honorable Daniel B. Poneman Deputy Secretary of Energy

The Honorable Thomas P. D'Agostino Administrator, NNSA

Mark B. Whitaker, Jr.
Departmental Representative to the DNFSB