Our Board Members

Board Member Photo

Dr. Peter S. Winokur, Chairman

Dr. Peter S. Winokur of Maryland has been appointed a Member of the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board for a term expiring October 18, 2014. Dr. Winokur has more than 40 years of experience as a scientist and engineer in the field of radiation effects science, technology, and hardness assurance in support of military and space systems. A Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers and the American Physical Society, he was selected as one of the most highly cited researchers in Engineering by the Institute for Scientific Information, which lists the 250 most highly cited researchers in the world in given scientific fields.

Board Member Photo

Ms. Jessie Hill Roberson, Vice Chairman

Ms. Jessie Hill Roberson a native of Evergreen, Alabama, has over 30 years of experience in the nuclear engineering field, with profound experience in low level waste management, environmental restoration, reactor operations and project management. Ms. Roberson’s who is currently serving her second tour with the Defense Nuclear Facility Safety Board (DNFSB) was initially nominated as a member of the Board in September 1999 by President Bill Clinton. Ms. Roberson was confirmed by the United States Senate in January 2000. After a short departure from the board, Ms. Roberson was again nominated as Vice Chairman of the Board by President Barack Obama.

Board Member Photo

Mr. Sean Sullivan, Board Member

Mr. Sean Sullivan of Connecticut was appointed a Member of the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board on August 2, 2012, for a term expiring October 18, 2015. Mr. Sullivan is a graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy, and served as a U.S. Navy submarine officer for twenty-six years. During his Navy career Mr. Sullivan was extensively involved in all aspects of operations, maintenance, and oversight of naval nuclear reactors and nuclear weapons. After leaving active duty, Mr. Sullivan practiced law as a civil litigation attorney for five years in the areas of torts, employment law, land use, and municipal law.