Board Members

Thomas A. Summers
Mr. Thomas A. Summers
Acting Chairman

Thomas A. Summers of Rochester, Pennsylvania was appointed Vice Chairman on August 17, 2020. He was confirmed by the Senate on July 2, 2020 for service through October 18, 2025. Mr. Summers previously served as the Senior Advisor and as the Deputy for Research, Development, Test, & Evaluation Office in Defense Programs for the National Nuclear Security Administration. He is a retired U.S. Air Force Colonel with over three decades of active duty in a variety of command, teaching, military staff, and scientific positions.

Mr. Summers earned a B.S. from Saint Vincent College, PA in Physics and Mathematics and four M.S. degrees: Applied Physics from the Air Force Institute of Technology, OH; Administration from Central Michigan University, MI; Military Operational Art and Science from Air Command and Staff College, AL; and National Security Strategy from the National War College, DC.

Jessie Hill Roberson
Ms. Jessie Hill Roberson
Board Member

Ms. Jessie Hill Roberson has more than 30 years of experience in the nuclear field in the public and private sectors. She has managed field operations at several Department of Energy Nuclear Plants and has served as Assistant Secretary of Energy for the Environmental Management Program in Washington, DC, where she had leadership responsibilities including operations, safety, financial, and policy across the Department of Energy’s Defense Nuclear Complex. She has also served in management roles at several commercial nuclear facilities with responsibilities including plant engineering, regulatory/licensing and compliance, nuclear operations, public interface and emergency management.

Joyce L. Connery
Ms. Joyce L. Connery
Board Member

Ms. Joyce L. Connery, a native of Massachusetts, was appointed to the Board by President Obama in August 2015, following confirmation by Congress as a member of the Board for a term expiring October 18, 2019. Ms. Connery served as the Board’s Chair from her confirmation in August 2015 until January 2017. Ms. Connery has had an extensive career in the fields of nuclear security, safety, nonproliferation and energy policy. Ms. Connery began her career at the national laboratories, first serving in Kazakhstan working on the shutdown of the BN-350 fast breeder reactor and then returning to Washington D.C. to work in the Office of International Safety in the National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA). She has served in several capacities at the Department of Energy, including as the senior policy advisor for the Deputy Secretary. She also served two tours in the National Security Council from February 2008 through May 2010 in the area of nonproliferation and nuclear security and then again from January 2012 through July 2015 as Director for Nuclear Energy Policy within the Office of International Economics. Ms. Connery received a B.A. and (after a two year stint with the Peace Corps in Turkmenistan) an M.A. from Tufts University.