The U.S. Office of Special Counsel (OSC) an independent federal investigative and prosecutorial agency, with basic authorities from four federal statutes: the Civil Service Reform Act, the Whistleblower Protection Act, the Hatch Act, and the Uniformed Services Employment & Reemployment Rights Act (USERRA).  

On May 15, 2002, Congress enacted the "Notification and Federal Employee Antidiscrimination and Retaliation Act of 2002," which is now known as the No FEAR Act . See Pub. L. 107-174, codified at 5 U.S.C. 2301 note. As stated in the full title of the Act, the Act is intended to "require that federal agencies be accountable for violations of antidiscrimination and whistleblower protection laws."

Through the attached Federal Register document, the Defense Nuclear Facilities Safety Board is providing notice to its employees, former employees, and applicants for federal employment about the rights and remedies available to them under the Federal antidiscrimination, whistleblower protection, and retaliation laws. This notice fulfills the Board's initial notification obligation under the Notification and Federal Employees Antidiscrimination and Retaliation Act (No FEAR Act), as implemented by Office of Personnel Management (OPM) regulations at 5 C.F.R. pt. 724.